Wednesday, February 29, 2012

The Rolling Stones- Unreleased Decca Live Album

As a contrast to the unreleased Who live album, here's a live recording the Rolling Stones (or at least their former label) considered releasing in 1972. The Who's Fillmore East live recording from 1968 would have been The Who's first live release and arguably would have lost nothing in quality and sound if it had been released instead the official, Live At Leeds. The idea of the Rolling Stones releasing a live album only two years after the brilliant Get Yer Ya-Yas Out! is crazy. Ya-Yas was and is the quintessential Rolling Stones live experience documenting their 1969 American tour. Whenever I listen to that record, I envision scenes from the scary good documentary, Gimme Shelter in my head. The sound is great, the guitar interplay between Keith Richards and Mick Taylor is wonderful (especially with headphones!) and Get Yer Ya-Yas Out had purpose and reason and really captured the Stones at their eerily devilish best.

The unreleased Decca record suffers from a couple of things, first the sound is sub par, sometimes distant and it seems muddy in parts, probably has more to do with the mix. Since it was only 2 years since Ya-Yas, releasing another live album seems kind of pointless with only two studio albums released since, there are some repeat songs, though the record is heavy towards Exile On Main Street material. If you want a better sounding and complete live recording from around this era, the recently available, Brussels Affair from their 1973 European tour is far superior. What makes this a worthwhile listen anyways? The Exile material is always welcome and the band is in peak-form during this period as the musicianship is top notch with a full horn section and the Richards/Taylor guitar duo (live) was the best the band ever had. And besides, I would rather hear another Stones live recording from the early 70's than anything after 1980. Here's what might have been.

Unreleased Decca Live Album- 1972

1. All Down The Line
2. Brown Sugar
3. Bitch
4. Rocks Off
5. Gimme Shelter
6. Happy
7. Tumbling Dice
8. Love In Vain
9. Sweet Virginia
10. You Can't Always Get What You Want
11. Midnight Rambler
12. Rip This Joint
13. Jumping Jack Flash
14. Street Fighting Man

Recorded live at Boston Gardens, July 19, 1972; at Spectrum Arena, Philadelphia, July 21, 1972; and at Tarrant County Convention Center, Texas, June 21. 1972.

THE ROLLING STONES- Unreleased Live Decca Album. rar (mp3)


Anonymous said...

You got the wrong bootleg. This isn't the unreleased Decca live album, it's just a bootleg that compiles some mediocre quality live tracks from the tour and calls itself a "lost" album. For the most part it comes from the same cities, but from different performances, like taking a performance from the second show instead of first. The actual bootleg you're looking for is "Keep Your Motor Running", which is pretty close to what the Stones were going to release, much better sound quality, and has some extras, but the actual album in its entirety has not been liberated. If you think Ya-Ya's is the end all be all of Stones live, and that a live album from this tour would have been redundant, then I don't think you listen to much Stones. '72 and '73 were the Stones at their live peak, a much better band than in '69 where they were still getting used to Taylor, and Taylor was a bit shy on lead. A live album from either tour, or compilation from both, would have put Ya-Ya's to shame. It's a great record, and will always be a classic, but they just weren't in top form yet.

Anonymous said...

And just to add. The actual unreleased live album (as well as the Keep Your Motor Running Bootleg) has an AMAZING medley of "Uptight (Everything's Alright)/(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" by Stevie Wonder with the Rolling Stones. It's fantastic. And a great cover of Chuck Berry's "Bye Bye Johnny" that rocks very nicely.

Anonymous said...

do you know where we can get a copy of "Keep Your Motor Running"? thx

Anonymous said...

Are you looking for a physical copy of "Keep Your Motor Running" or just download it. If you just want to download it, Google it, it's all over the web and on the usual Stones bootleg blogs. A physical copy, I'm not entirely sure. I just found mine at a record store, I suppose you could order it from the label though.

Locations of visitors to this page