Monday, October 27, 2008

Ben Kweller- How Ya Looking Southbound?...Come In

Something brand new from Ben Kweller...
(from BK's first studio recordings since the 2006 critically-acclaimed self titled release. This limited edition 7-track EP provides an exclusive teaser / warm-up for Kweller's upcoming and highly-anticipated January 2009 full-length release entitled Changing Horses. Three of the songs on this EP, 'Fight', 'Things I Like To Do', and 'Sawdust Man' will appear on the January 09 release. Kweller is back in terrific form on this catchy and melodic offering: he stays true to his quirky folk-pop sensibilities. BK also stretches out and injects dusty, and charming twang and Americana into each composition. The EP was produced by Kweller in Austin, TX and recorded to all analog tape. It features his band 'The Great Lakes'...who turn in amazing harmonies, smoldering pedal steel and dobro performances, and lend Leon Russell-esque piano bounce. Also, BK managed to weave in some spooky and compelling field recordings that segue's a handful of songs.

Sounds good, but I must warn you, if you hate country and western this might not be for you. The full length release in January will be a country album, but if you're a Kweller fan, this may change your mind about the genre. This is a tour-only EP, so I'm posting the whole EP for your listening pleasure, unless you can make it to one of his upcoming shows.

BEN KWELLER How Ya Looking Southbound?...Come In
1) Fight
2) Things I Like To Do
3) Sawdust Baby
4) Sawdust Man
5) The Biggest Flower
6) F Train Blues / Gypsy Rosita
7) Somehow (Singlemalt Version)

download: How Ya Looking Southbound?...Come In (complete EP)

No comments:

Locations of visitors to this page