Thursday, May 13, 2010

Rilo Kiley- 1st Album

I thought since I talked so highly about Rilo Kiley's earlier albums in an earlier post, I figured it would be fitting to post their very first album. This rare hard-to-find self-titled release was put out by the band independently in 1999 and there was three versions, the first pressing had 8 tracks (and a hidden track), the second pressing reissue featured the same cover, but the track listings was slightly different (9 songs with a different and longer hidden track). The third version was titled, Initial Friend E.P., with 8 songs and no hidden tracks. I'm not sure what version I have (I have a burned disc I made years ago), but it contains all the tracks that appear on all three versions of the CD, including the hidden tracks along with a couple of bonus early mixes of The Frug and 85.

Overall, this early CD is a good (not great) indication of better things to come. It has a certain charm and innocence that originally attracted me to the band. Still, I recommend you check out their next three albums for the full picture.

Self-Titled (1st Album)
  1. Frug
  2. Papillon
  3. Always
  4. 85
  5. Sword
  6. Asshole
  7. Gravity
  8. Troubadours
  9. Teenage Love Song
  10. Glendora
  11. Steve
  12. (hidden track) Rained The Day
  13. The Frug (early mix)
  14. 85 (early mix)
  15. Teenage Love Song (later mix)
  16. (hidden track) Troubadours, The Annoying Noise Of Death
RILO KILEY- 1st CD. rar


Anonymous said...

thanks so much for sharing! this is much easier than trying to track down the different versions and hidden tracks!

wolvesinthegarden said...

Thanks for the dl link. Good to get my hands on these hidden tracks. Every now and then I try to find this/these albums posted for sale online, but never find it. I will hold onto hope though.


Locations of visitors to this page