Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Sloan- (You Don't Need To) Coax Me

Photos by Corbin Smith/Torontoist

When I returned from vacation an envelope had arrived in the mail with my tickets (I purchased online before I left) to the Sloan show here in mid-September. I'm excited because the band is performing their Twice Removed record in it's entirety and since it's one of their classic albums (and one of my favs), it promises to be a good time. While on vacation to get in the mood, I listened to the album multiple times and it seems to get better every time I hear it. To coincide with the Twice Removed tour, Sloan is reissuing the album in early September in a grand deluxe edition which will feature 3 vinyl LP's (Twice Removed album, demos and outtakes), 7" vinyl single, 32 page booklet, as well as some others goodies and additional exclusive items for pre-orders. Sounds like a real treat for the hardcore fan, but for $90, might be too rich for the casual listener. To pre-order (before September 4th) the Twice Removed Deluxe Edition, visit the Sloan site.

Sloan isn't shy to perform the "album in it's entirety" thing as they performed the One Chord To Another record for a benefit (# see below) in Toronto in 2011. Another great Sloan album that works well live when played in sequence. I downloaded this show from Dime via, an amazing live music blog that features recordings from the Toronto, Canada area. Blogs like this really are a labour of love created and maintained by true music fans that want to share music we would otherwise not be able to enjoy. Please visit and appreciate their sites! Thank you  MFS, hope you don't mind if I re-post this show!

The Great Hall
Toronto, ON Canada

December 21, 2011
"One Chord To Another" Live

00. [introduction by Damian Abraham]
01. The Good In Everyone
02. Nothing Left To Make Me Want To Stay
03. Autobiography
04. Junior Panthers
05. G Turns To D
06. A Side Wins
07. Everything You've Done Wrong
08. Anyone Who's Anyone
09. The Lines You Amend
10. Take The Bench
11. Can't Face Up
12. [banter]
13. 400 Metres
14. [encore break]
15. Snowsuit Sound
16. 500 Up
17. [Damian takes the stage]
18. Nervous Breakdown (Black Flag cover)*
19. [Feist takes the stage]
20. She Says What She Means**

* feat. Damian Abraham (vocals)
** feat. Leslie Feist (guitar)

Recorded by Mechanical Forest Sound

# This show was a benefit for the Barriere Lake Legal Defense Fund (
and COUNTERfit Harm Reduction Services (

SLOAN- 2011-12-21 FLAC. rar

1 comment:

Mechanical Forest Sound said...

Thumbs up + thanks for the shout out!

(And also thanks for keeping the links to the organizations that were being supported that night.)

Locations of visitors to this page