Monday, March 05, 2012

The Crust Brothers- Marquee Mark

Here's a tasty listen to start off the week, Pavement's Stephen Malkmus teaming up with members of Silkworm as The Crust Brothers. I only discovered this recording a couple of weeks ago and you need to put aside your Pavement and Silkworm ears because the Crust Brothers are a totally different listen. The Crust Brothers lone release was Marquee Mark, a live recording from a show at the Crocodile Cafe (in Seattle) on December 5, 1997. The band played all-covers, except one Silkworm song which was technically a cover because Malkmus sang lead vocals. An interesting mix of songs especially if you're a fan of Dylan because seven of the twelve songs were from Bob Dylan and The Band's, Basement Tapes album. Originally, this project was a one-off, but additional performances in Vancouver and Seattle (twice more) in 98, 99 and 2000 proved is more than a novelty. If you're a fan of both bands you'll enjoy this classic rock diversion and despite the sloppy playing and lack of practice, it's an enjoyable listen and you can hear the band had a good time too.

(I'm pretty sure this is long out of print, but if anyone has any objections to posting this, please email me.)

Marquee Mark (1998)
  1. Going to Acapulco (Bob Dylan)
  2. Million Dollar Bash (Bob Dylan)
  3. Bessie Smith (Rick Danko/Robbie Robertson)
  4. Yazoo Street Scandal (Robbie Robertson)
  5. Lo and Behold (Bob Dylan)
  6. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere (Bob Dylan)
  7. Never Met a Man I Didn't Like (Silkworm)
  8. Heard It Through the Grapevine (Norman Whitfield)
  9. Feel a Whole Lot Better (Gene Clark)
  10. Bitch (Mick Jagger/Keith Richards)
  11. Tuesday's Gone (Gary Rossington/Allen Collins/Ronnie Van Zant)
  12. Mrs. Henry (Bob Dylan)

Link removed

This record is still available digitally at Comedy Minus One. Buy it here.


Jon Solomon said...

This record is still in print digitally through Comedy Minus One. Can you please remove the .rar?

binky said...

Sorry, I didn't know this was still available. Thanks for the information. Of course I will remove the rar, thanks for asking.

Locations of visitors to this page