Monday, November 12, 2012

Rock For Democracy 2004

photo by Mockstar
 I didn't quite time this properly, the U.S. election was last week and this concert actually took place back in 2004 when George W. Bush was running for re-election against John Kerry. Leading up to that election a series of Rock for Democracy benefit concerts were held to gather up supporters to get rid of Bush. One such show took place in Minneapolis with a who's who of Twin Cities bands lending their support for this worthy cause.

Bands that night were: The Flops, Iffy, Honeydogs, Jessy Greene, David Poe, Kraig Johnson & The Program, Dana Thompson, Sideways, Ike Reilly Assassination, Martin Devaney, The Jayhawks, Golden Smog and Dave Pirner and Dan Murphy from Soul Asylum. A review of the show can be found here and a song by song analysis of the Jayhawks and Golden Smog sets can be found here.

I'm not sure if the other bands were recorded, but fortunately someone did capture the Dave and Dan, Jayhawks and Golden Smog sets and posted it on Dime after the concert in 04. The sets are short, but sweet and one of the highlights has to be when a guy interrupted the Jayhawks during the start of their first song to loudly encourage voters to vote out Bush (click the second link above to read more) because his brother's being sent to Iraq. The Golden Smog set sounds fun with a bunch of covers and a couple of false starts. Even Dave Pirner joined the band for some songs. I didn't hear about as many similar concerts this election compared to 2004 and 2008, except for the usual Bruce Springsteen tour to boost Obama's profile. Unfortunately, the American people had to put up with Republican related concerts with the likes of Kid Rock, Meatloaf and pretty much every country singer/band in the States...yikes!
Yay, 4 more years!

First Avenue, Minneapolis, MN
July 18, 2004

AUD recording

Dave Pirner and Dan Murphy of Soul Asylum
01. Intro
02. Black Gold
03. Crazy Mixed Up World
04. Lately
05. Outro

The Jayhawks (Gary Louris/Marc Perlman/Tim O'Reagan/Karen Grotberg)
06. Intro
07. One Man's Problem (aborted due to audience member climbing onstage)
08. One Man's Problem
09. Pray For Me
10. He Ain't Heavy, He's My Brother (Tim-lead vocal)
11. Tailspin
12. Outro

Golden Smog (Gary Louris/Marc Perlman/Dan Murphy/Kraig Johnson/Peter Anderson)
13. intro
14. Starman (Gary- lead vocal)
15. That's When I Reach For My Revolver (Dan-lead vocal)
16. Powderfinger (Kraig-lead vocal)
17. Do Anything You Wanna Do (Dan-lead vocal)
18. The Dream Is Never Over (false starts) (Gary and Dave-lead vocals)
19. The Dream Is Never Over (Gary and Dave Pirner-lead vocals)
20. I'm Eighteen (false starts) (Dave- lead vocal)
21. I'm Eighteen (Dave- lead vocal)
22. Shooting Star (Dave-lead vocal)
23. Outro

ROCK FOR DEMOCRACY 2004-07-18 First Avenue, Mpls, MN FLAC. rar


Anonymous said...

Wonderful blog, wonderful post! Thank you very much, and Happy Holidays!

Anonymous said...

Excellent! I was at this show, and it was my last week living in Mpls before sadly moving across country. Fond memories...thank you very much!

Locations of visitors to this page