Monday, May 28, 2012

My Aim Is True Revisited...Again!

photo by pneyu
By request, I'm digging back 5 years to a post from this blog about a concert commemorating the 30th anniversary of Elvis Costello's debut album, My Aim Is True. You can read the story behind this concert that features Elvis performing with the band, Clover who were the backing musicians on the album (pre-Attractions), by clicking the link to the post of the 30th anniversary of My Aim Is True. I guess technically this year is now the 35th anniversary of this classic record.

In the original post, I upped only a sample of 9 of the songs from the concert in mp3 and a link to lossless Dimeadozen. Not sure if the mp3's work, but I've been informed the Dime link is no longer valid. Sorry, I didn't correct this earlier. Below is a lossless FLAC link of the complete concert for your listening enjoyment and for those that didn't get this first time.

Elvis Costello and Clover
Great American Music Hall
San Francisco, California
November 8, 2007
with guests Bill Kirchen and Austin De Lone

For the 30th anniversary of My Aim is True, and for a benefit for the child of Austin De Lone, Elvis and Clover re-created the My Aim is True album they recorded together in 1977. Clover members present were John McFee on guitar and pedal steel, Sean Hopper on keyboards and John Ciambotti on bass. Clover's drummer was unavailable and was replaced by Pete Thomas. Clover's vocalists, Alex Call and Huey Lewis, didn't participate in the 1977 recording or this concert.

Following the top-to-bottom playing of the My Aim is True, with original arrangements, Elvis and the rest of the musicians in various combinations played a second set of songs all written before 1977, Elvis's declared rule for the evening.

1. Introduction
2. Welcome to the Working Week
3. Miracle Man
4. No Dancing
5. Blame it On Cain
6. Alison
7. Sneaky Feelings
8. (Angels Wanna Wear My) Red Shoes
9. Less Than Zero
10. Mystery Dance
11. Pay it Back
12. I'm Not Angry
13. Waiting for the End of the World
14. Watching the Detectives

1. Just Like a Jukebox ? (Elvis solo)
2. Wave a White Flag (Elvis solo)
3. Blue Minute (Elvis solo)
4. Jump Up (Elvis solo)
5. I Can't Turn It Off (Elvis solo)
6. Living in Paradise (Elvis and Clover)
7. Stranger in the House (Elvis and Clover)
8. I Don't Want To Go Home (Elvis and Clover)
9. Radio Sweetheart (Elvis and Clover)
10. Mr. Moon (Clover song - Elvis and Clover)
11. Love Is Gone (Elvis, Clover, Kirchen, De Lone)
12. chatter
13. Love Has No Pride (Elvis and Austin De Lone)
14. (What's So Funny Bout)  Peace, Love and Understanding? (all)

(thanks May 0:} for your help with the missing song titles!)

ELVIS COSTELLO- 2007-11-08 disc 1 FLAC. rar
ELVIS COSTELLO- 2007-11-08 disc 2 FLAC. rar


Anonymous said...

great show. thank you. on the flip side, tho, it's been busy all day . . . must be popular

davidwolfsonnc said...

This looks great. I missed it on dime first time around. Thanks. ADrive has been inaccessible since this was posted, however. I guess just patience?

binky said...

Thanks for letting me know about Adrive being inaccessible , I've been wondering why this file hasn't been downloaded yet. I tried some other recent files and the same thing. I haven't had any problems with Adrive in the past.

I'll look into it. I have a funny feeling about this, but I can still access my account. I'll let everyone know when it works.

Rex Norris said...

thanks for this

binky said...

Adrive sorted out the problem. It seems that the links work again for download! Thanks for your patience!

Anonymous said...

5. I Can't Turn It Off
8. I Don't Want To Go Home
11. Love Is Gone
13. Love Has No Pride

Locations of visitors to this page