Sunday, July 10, 2016

Blake Babies- 15 Years Ago...Philadelphia 2001
If you're a fan of the Blake Babies, this is a big week. Yesterday, the band digitally released a collection of songs, the Earwig Demos for those that pre-ordered the album on Pledgemusic (yes, I did!) and yesterday, the band reunited for a pair of shows in their hometown of Boston. The demos are officially available for the first time ever, a nice complement to the original album, Earwig released back in 1989.

The Blake Babies haven't performed together since their last reunion tour 15 years ago in 2001. They previously disbanded in 1992, they first united in 1999, played some shows in 1999 and 2000 and embarked on their last U.S. tour in 2001. During their last run, the band released the album, God Bless The Blake Babies which I think stands up well to their earlier albums. Before they split their very last recording, Epilogue was released in 2002. The return of the Blake Babies is a very pleasant surprise and right now I feel regretful I didn't travel to Boston and Evanston, IL (July 23) to see them live one more time. Hopefully they feel rejuvenated and enthused to tour outside these cities in the near future, but I feel I blew another chance. I regret I didn't see them in Minneapolis in 2001, but some decent live recordings from the tour made the bad decision less painful.
To coincide with the Blake Babies latest reunion shows, I'm posting a show from their final leg of the 2001 tour with the third last (?) show in Philadelphia. It's a great sounding recording and the band is in good form. I can't get enough of Juliana live, but there's some sort of musical magic when she performs with John and Freda.

**Hopefully someone is taping the shows (Boston, Evanston), please let me know and I can post here! Thanks!**

North Star Bar
Philadelphia, PA
July 19, 2001

01. Cesspool
02. Until I Almost Died
03. unknown jam (Hospital)
04. Baby Gets High
05. From Here To Burma
06. Nothing Ever Happens
07. Star
08. Civil War
09. Lament
10. Picture Perfect
11. Severed Lips
12. Walk A Thin Line
13. talk
14. Disappear
15. Out There
16. Rain
17. On
18. Girl In A Box
19. Let Me Roll It
20. Downtime

BLAKE BABIES- 2001-07-19 North Star Bar, Philadelphia, PA FLAC. rar

Tuesday, July 05, 2016

Replay: Ray Davies 2008 Winnipeg Folk Festival

On July 7th, the Winnipeg Folk Festival celebrates it's 43th annual festival with it's usual lineup that's sure to delight young and old. I attended just one day last year and as of right now, I don't have plans to attend this year. It usually takes one or two interesting acts that will drag me down to Birds Hill Park, but I honestly don't see much that interests me and I'm not too crazy about handing over so much ca$h. I know everyone has personal tastes and a lot of people will attend no matter who's performing as it's their tradition to visit old friends and to listen to old music and hopefully discover new music. To be honest, my favourite part of attending the festival is discovering under the radar acts and seeing the acts I'm familiar with more up close.

If I don't attend, I thought I should re-share one of my favourite performances at the festival by one of my all time favourite performers, Ray Davies. This will probably be the closest I'll get to seeing the Kinks, so I have this show locked up in my memory for safe keeping. I previously posted this show back in July of 2008, a few weeks after the show, but I want to offer an upgrade with a FLAC lossless version of the one I posted. Previously I posted the show in mp3 and since I posted I had requests to repost (it's no longer available anyways) in lossless.

If you attend this year's festival, enjoy! It should be wet and rainy all weekend so keep dry and let me know what I was missing.

Winnipeg Folk Festival
Birds Hill Park, Manitoba
July 13, 2008

Audience MD MASTER
Sony ECM-DS70P mic> Sharp MD-MT90> ADS Instant Music> USB> Nero Soundtrax>
 Wav> Direct Wave MP3 Splitter> FLAC> Maketorrent>

01.  I Need You (aborted)
02.  Waterloo Sunset
03.  I Need You
04.  I'm Not Like Everybody Else
05.  Where Have All The Good Times Gone?
06.  20th Century Man
07.  After The Fall
08.  Sunny Afternoon
09.  Dead End Street
10.  Dedicated Follower Of Fashion
11.  A Hymn For A New Age
12.  Working Man's Cafe
13.  Vietnam Cowboys
14.  Well Respected Man
15.  See My Friends
16.  Tired Of Waiting For You
17.  Set Me Free
18.  All Day And All Of The Night

19.  Lola
20.  You Really Got Me

No band just:
Ray Davies- vocals, guitar
Bill Shanley- guitar, b vocals

NOTE: Please share, but DO NOT sell this or any other live recordings on this blog. I have seen this specific recording for sale ($20!!) previously at a local record store after I originally posted this show. Not cool! Also do not convert to mp3 for sharing without my permission. Thanks.

RAY DAVIES- 2008-07-13 Winnipeg Folk Festival FLAC. rar

Locations of visitors to this page