Wednesday, December 29, 2021

Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers- L.A.M.F. The Found '77 Masters

 As we near the end of the year, I want to post a few items I have kicking around my online storage. Sorry for the lack of posts recently, I will squeeze a few more in for 2021, but I've been faced with the issue of a (almost) full online storage. I need to find another source to hold the music I want to post and I'll wait until the new year to decide what to do. I currently use Adrive and have filled my 100 gig limit, so I need to upgrade my account for more space (a big price jump) or find another (cheap-ish) online storage site. Any suggestions?

Johnny Thunders & The Heartbreakers only officially released one studio album, Heartbreakers- L.A.M.F. back in 1977. Though it's a great classic album, the criticism of the record has been with the sound mix and for decades there have been a few attempts to get it "right". In 1984, a remixed version of the original album was released as, L.A.M.F. Revisited. Then came in 1994, L.A.M.F. (The Lost '77 Mixes) which was compiled from alternative mixes and had improved sound from the previous issues. Finally in 2020, discovered in Daniel Secunda's (Track Records director and L.A.M.F. co-producer) archive a box of tapes and a tape marked, Copy Master 12.7.77, which turned out to be the master tape with a crystal clear sounding L.A.M.F. Earlier this year this set was released on vinyl for RSD and then a CD version with a bonus disc of the demo sessions.

 I have to admit, they sound pretty great and much clearer than the "muddy" mix of the original LP release. I'm sure a lot of people don't care or can tell the difference, but as a huge Heartbreaker's fan this is a wonderful find! Happy holidays!


Please do NOT sell or profit from this recording!
Please share!

DISC 1 - The Found '77 Masters

        01. BORN TOO LOOSE
        02. BABY TALK
        03. ALL BY MYSELF
        04. I WANNA BE LOVED
        05. IT'S NOT ENOUGH
        06. CHINESE ROCKS
        07. GET OFF THE PHONE
        08. PIRATE LOVE
        09. ONE TRACK MIND
        10. I LOVE YOU
        11. GOIN' STEADY
        12. LET GO
        14. DO YOU LOVE ME
 DISC 2 - The Demo Sessions, Plus:

        01. BORN TO LOSE (Chris Stamp Single Mix)
        02. CHINESE ROCKS (Chris Stamp Single Mix)
        03. BORN TOO LOOSE (Essex Studio Demo Feb '77)
        04. CHINESE ROCKS (Essex Studio Demo Feb '77)
        05. LET GO (Essex Studio Demo Feb '77)
        06. CAN'T KEEP MY EYES ON YOU (Jay Nap Studio Demo '76)
        07. I LOVE YOU (Jay Nap Studio Demo '76)
        08. IT'S NOT ENOUGH (Jay Nap Studio Demo '76)
        09. DO YOU LOVE ME (Jay Nap Studio Demo '76)
        10. TAKE A CHANCE (Jay Nap Studio Demo '76)
        11. BORN TO LOSE (Jay Nap Studio Demo '76)
        12. I WANNA BE LOVED (SBS Studio Demo Jan '76)
        13. GOING STEADY (SBS Studio Demo Jan '76)
        14. FLIGHT (SBS Studio Demo Jan '76)
        15. PIRATE LOVE (SBS Studio Demo Jan '76)
        16. GIVE HER A GREAT BIG KISS (Riverside Studio Demo Dec '77)
        17. TOO MUCH JUNKIE BUSINESS (Riverside Studio Demo Dec '77)
        18. LONDON BOYS (Riverside Studio Demo Dec '77)
        19. CAN'T KEEP MY EYES ON YOU (LIVE) (Single B-side 1977)

Locations of visitors to this page